Moody 38 (90s) Do Moody 36cc/38cc make for a good off shore/trans-oceanic boat?

• Thread starter Ashley Briant
  • Start date
A

Ashley Briant

Hi all. My wife an I have talked about getting a sail boat for years. Now I have just turned fifty I feel now is the time before its too late. The Moody 38cc has taken our attention and think it may be a good fit for us. My thoughts are to sail and live aboard in the UK and Mediterranean for the first two or three years. I hear a lot about Blue water boats for ocean crossings. Could the members give me their thoughts and opinions if the moody 38cc or indeed the 36cc make a good off shore/trans oceanic boat? Thanks in advance...

Often sailing offshore has more to do with the skipper and crew than it does with the boat. I have no experience with the 36 but I have met owners of the 38 that crossed the Atlantic to the Caribbean. They were very happy with the boat and found it handled the offshore conditions very well. Good luck in your search for a boat. R

At a Solent MOA AGM John Rodriguez (yacht broker, website www.jryachts.com) and his wife (she actually gave the talk and excellent it was too) spoke about sailing their Moody 38 for years as live aboard and ocean yacht. I asked him, as an owner, if the 36 (90s) would also fit the bill and he said absolutely yes.
Noel

Hi Ashley, I have taken my 38 offshore in the UK and previous owners all over Europe. It is a very capable boat, even in rough seas. As for transatlantic, it could easily do it but there are better boats. When you get to the other side, the 38 would be perfect so it all depends on how often you expect to do the crossing. Cheers, Oli