Moody 31 MkII Moody 31 MkII vs Moody 28 - additional cabin room?

• Thread starter Matthew Stibbs
  • Start date
M

Matthew Stibbs

I’m 6ft4 and have been looking at Moody 28, 30, and 31.

I think I’ve probably ruled out 30s now, as I’d like something a little more modern.

I’d be really grateful of any views re extra cabin space gained from a M31 over a M28.

In particular headroom in saloon, and room in berths and heads (am aware of the additional storage). I haven’t managed to view a 31Mk2 in the flesh yet, and it’s very difficult to tell from photos whether you actually gain much in these areas over the 28.

Appreciate any insights from people who have experience of both!

I have no experience of a 28, but i have a 31 mk2, located in Plymouth. If you are in the area, let me know, I can give you a viewing so you can see for yourself.
I am 5'10 and have no issues in the saloon, but i do bump my head a lot on doorframes.
However they may be the same across many boats, and i probably just need to be more cautious.

I have no experience of a 28, but i have a 31 mk2, located in Plymouth. If you are in the area, let me know, I can give you a viewing so you can see for yourself.
I am 5'10 and have no issues in the saloon, but i do bump my head a lot on doorframes.
However they may be the same across many boats, and i probably just need to be more cautious.

very kind, Ben. I’m actually in Medway, Kent -so not an easy pop round the corner (although I wish it were!)

Matthew, you're going to have a problem but that will apply to many yachts not just Moodys, so worth persevering to see if you can live with it or make adjustments. However, first the differences are a wardrobe in the v berth cabin, a bit of extra height and width in the saloon, an extra cupboard in the galley. Heads are a difference layout and more space above the loo. You loose the stern window in the stern cabin in favour of a double calor gas cylinder locker.