1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. Brooke Morgan

Brooke Morgan Brooke Morgan Temporary Member

I must admit I am new to the Moody brand. I am from the US and have focused my searches there until now. I have recently moved to the Netherlands and am considering the Purchase of a 2004 54. I am a little confused by some of the review and the time line of the company. One of the reviews I read said that the boats are only costal sailors but I see many have done circumnavigations.

Is that limited to the ones built before 2004 or does that include the ones since the take over?
    Were the ones built in 2004 done by the old company or the new?
    What are some of the known flaws with that year of production?

My husband is very smitten with what we have seen of the boat on the internet. It is designed by the same person that we were looking at in the US. It is beautiful inside and out on the photos. I just can't seem to get a lot of information on them from the internet. I like going into a purchase like this with as much information as I can and I am frustrated that I can't find out more in my search...help!

2. Peter Wright

Peter Wright Peter Wright

Boat name:
    WILD THYME
    Boat type:
    Moody 425
    Cruising area:
    North Sea, English Channel, Biscay
    Hi Brooke and welcome to our association.

Firstly, you should know that I have never sailed a DS 54, our current boat is a 425 from an earlier era - all it has in common with the DS 54 is Bill Dixon.

Having said that, for decades before the Moody brand was sold to Hanse, the yachts were actually built by Marine Projects in Plymouth, not Moody themselves.

If you want to assess the design quality of the DS 54, look at all the wonderful yachts conceived by Bill Dixon, not just Moodys. To assess the build quality, look at the Hanse yachts - in my view one of the better production brands of today.