Moody 36 (80s) Opportunity to crew with existing 36cc or 376cc owner

Pat Moloney

Pat Moloney
Temporary Member
Hi there, I've been researching suitable boats and layout preference for over six months and the Moody36cc or 376cc are a very good match for my requirements. I'm currently fractional owner in Bavaria 36 (probably anathema to mention on this forum but hoping I'll be forgiven as newbie!) but looking to take next step for purchase / full ownership of own boat in next twelve months for more extended sailing intentions. However I've not sailed on a Moody and never sailed on cc boat. I was wondering if there are any existing owners of those models in the Southampton or Portsmouth areas that might facilitate a day sail with additional and willing hand so that I could get real world experience crewing on one of these? Any help or guidance appreciated.

Bill Oliver

Bill Oliver
Boat name
TALADH A CUAN
Berth
Ardfern
Boat type
Moody 36(90s)
Cruising area
West Scotland
If it helps - I’d never been on board a CC boat before buying our 1998 36 let alone sailed one..

Our 36 is a nice place to stay. Very comfortable for the two of us with very good stowage, good galley and cozy. Stepping down from a 40 ft Bendy Toy the cockpit is neat, safe and secure at sea with everything to hand. I do find it a bit narrow for my shoulders when crashed out in the sunshine at anchor though which was the same issue I had with the Stbd saloon seat- problem solved by making an in fill for the port side which is now our super comfy chill out spot.

They are superb boats In harbour and at sea.

Pat Moloney

Pat Moloney
Temporary Member