Moody 34 Need info. Looking at a couple of Moodys

Roland Lowe

Registered Guest
I’m new to this brand but increasingly impressed as I continue to research it. In the process of upgrading from 26’ boat which we have outgrown. Currently contemplating a 1985 M34 or a 1986 M346. This will be for me and wife with occasional visitor.
Requesting input from members who can provide specific areas to focus on. For some background , the 346 is about a 2 hr drive away…nice looking and clean boat. The 34 is about 1 hr flight away so repositioning would be a logistical challenge. Also nice looking boat.
Want to know if there any immediate “deal breaker” items to watch out for.
Thanks in advance for insight.
Rol1964

Hi Roland,

To start with, your capability to assess a boat depends on your knowledge and experience. If you are unsure, you may involve a surveyor.

That said, a boat that looks clean and "fully intact" is already a good starting point.
You might want to have a close look at the engines, the sails (often a neglected item even in surveys) and everything that could leak (hatches, windows, chainplates). Also, the fuel tank is made of milled steel and might require a replacement at some point of time.
Depending on your location and usage pattern, a holding tank might be also of relevance.

Electrics and electronics is another topic of interest, e.g., have there been updates, are additions/expansions done well etc.

Good luck with your search.

Thx for reply. If either of the boats in question passed my own inspection then I would engage a certified surveyor. I have lots of experience with all things mechanical. I was however unaware of the steel fuel tank...that's the sort of info I'm looking for.
Are the chain plates particularly susceptible / how difficult to access and inspect? Any rudder issues or blistering history?